Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Events organised by C04

Lecture and workshop with Nitzan Shoshan

On the 23th of January 2020 Nitzan Shoshan, researcher at El Colegio de México, gave a lecture titled "Hitler, for example: affective registers of fascist exemplarity in Germany". Project C04 also organized the methodological workshop "Gefühlswelten von Rechts" on the 24th of January 2020, where Aletta Diefenbach, Tim Lörke, Nitzan Shoshan and Stefan Wellgraf shared experiences and methodological strategies from their research on right-wing movements.

Lecture "PEGIDA als kollektive Performanz. Die Dresdener Demonstrationen im Lichte einer theaterwissenschaftlichen Aufführungsanalyse"

Sebastian Sommer, doctoral researcher at the institute for theatre studies at Freie Universität Berlin and member of the working group "Right-wing protest mobilisations" at the Institute for Social Movement Studies, presented the results of his participation in various PEGIDA demonstrations. His approach is decidedly located within theatre studies and focuses on the protests' performative dimension.

Lecture "Das wird man ja wohl noch sagen dürfen - Über Hassrede und Ressentiment als Gefühlsszenario"

On the 29th of May 2018, Jörg Metelmann, professor for cultural and media studies at the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at Universität St. Gallen, gave a lecture at FU Berlin. Particulary, the function and shape of resentment in public discourse was discussed.

International conference "Hass/Literatur"

From the 24th to the 26th of May 2018, the international conference "Hass/Literatur" was held at FU Berlin. On the invitation of Prof. Dr. Jürgen Brokoff and Dr. Robert Walter-Jochum, academics from the fields of literary studies, sociology, philosophy and anthropology convened to dicuss the relationship between hate and (literary) texts.

Lecture "Media, Markets and Psychology: Structural Conditions of Post-Factual Democracy"

On the 15th of May 2018, Mads Vestergaard, doctoral researcher at the "Center for Information and Bubble Studies" at University of Copenhagen and guest reseacher at the Institute of Sociology and the CRC 1171, held a public lecture on the structural conditions of post-factual democracy at FU Berlin.

Lecture "Only better Beasts: Emotion, Material Religion and the Scopes Trial"

On the 21st of June 2017, Donovan Schaefer, guest researcher at the CRC 1171 and lecturer at the University of Oxford, gave a talk at FU Berlin. Central to his presentation was the dynamic relationship between religious bodies and science and the role of emotions in this process.

Second Annual Conference of the CRC 1171 "Public Spheres of Resonance: Constellations of Affect and Language"

In cooperation with the Institute for Cultural Inquiry Berlin, the CRC 1171 organized its second Annual Conference. The focus of interest was a critical evaluation of the relationship between language and affect as currently predominant in Affect Studies, which primarily attributes a communicative and representative function to language. Rather, the ability inherent to language to generate affects and affective resonance, was emphasized by the participants of the conference.

International workshop "Inside Out: Affect(s) in Multi-Religious Secular Societies"

Projects C02 and C04 organised a workshop on the 4th and 5th of November 2016. International researchers from different disciplinary backgrounds discussed new developments in cultural and social sciences in the field of religious emotions. A main area of interest was the communicative construction of the "secular" and the "religious" as antagonistic poles of the social sphere.

Methodological workshop "Diskursanalyse"

On the 19th of June 2016, Project C04 offered a methodological seminar on the introduction to the Sociology of knowledge Approach to discourse (SKAD). Dr. Sasa Bosanic, researcher at the University of Augsburg, whose research primarily comprises sociology of knowledge and discourse analysis, first gave an introductory overview of the basic principles and concepts of SKAD. Subsequently, the heuristic instruments used in SKAD were presented and applied to empirical material generated by some of the CRC 1171's projects.

Projekteigene Veranstaltungen

Gastvortrag "PEGIDA als kollektive Performanz. Die Dresdener Demonstrationen im Lichte einer theaterwissenschaftlichen Aufführungsanalyse"

Sebastian Sommer, Doktorand am theaterwissenschaftlichen Institut der Freien Universität Berlin und Mitglied des Arbeitskreises "Rechte Protestmobilisierungen" am Institut für Protest- und Bewegungsforschung, stellte die Ergebnisse seiner Teilnahme an verschiedenen PEGIDA-Demonstrationen vor. Sein Ansatz ist dezidiert theaterwissenschaftlich und rückt die performative Dimension der Proteste ins Zentrum der Beobachtungen.

Gastvortrag "Das wird man ja wohl noch sagen dürfen - Über Hassrede und Ressentiment als Gefühlsszenario"

Am 29. Mai 2018 hielt Jörg Metelmann, Professor für Kultur- und Medienwissenschaften an der School of Humanities and Social Sciences der Universität St. Gallen, einen Gastvortrag an der FU Berlin. Vor allem wurde die Funktion und Gestalt von Ressentiments im öffentlichen Diskurs thematisiert.

Internationale literaturwissenschaftliche Tagung "Hass/Literatur"

Vom 24. bis 26. Mai 2018 fand die internationale Tagung „Hass/Literatur“ an der FU Berlin statt. Auf Einladung von Prof. Dr. Jürgen Brokoff und Dr. Robert Walter-Jochum kamen Literaturwissenschaftler*innen, Soziolog*innen, Philosoph*innen und Anthropolog*innen zusammen, um sich mit dem Verhältnis von Hass und (literarischen) Texten auseinanderzusetzen.

Vortrag "Media, Markets and Psychology: Structural Conditions of Post-Factual Democracy"

Am 15. Mai 2018 hielt Mads Vestergaard, Doktorand am "Center for Information and Bubble Studies" der Universität Kopenhagen und Gastwissenschaftler am Institut für Soziologie und dem SFB 1171, einen öffentlichen Vortrag zu den strukturellen Voraussetzungen der postfaktischen Demokratie.

Vortrag "Only better Beasts: Emotion, Material Religion and the Scopes Trial"

Am 21. Juni 2017 hielt Donovan Schaefer, Gastwissenschaftler am SFB 1171 und Dozent an der Universität Oxford, einen Vortrag an der FU Berlin. Im Zentrum stand das Verhältnis von religiösen Körperschaften und der Wissenschaft und die Rolle von Gefühlen in diesem.

Jahrestagung des SFB 1171 "Public Spheres of Resonance: Constellations of Affect and Language"

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institute for Cultural Inquiry Berlin veranstaltete der SFB 1171 seine zweite Jahreskonferenz. Den thematischen Rahmen bildete ein kritisches Hinterfragen des Verhältnisses von Sprache und Affekt, wie es derzeit in den Affect Studies vorherrschend ist, und in dem Sprache vorrangig eine kommunikative und repräsentative Rolle zugesprochen wird. Vielmehr wurde im Rahmen der Konferenz das der Sprache inhärente Vermögen, zu affizieren und affektive Resonanzen zu erzeugen, in den Vordergrund gerückt.

Internationaler Workshop "Inside Out: Affect(s) in Multi-Religious Secular Societies"

Die Teilprojekte C02 und C04 luden vom 4. bis zum 5. November 2016 zu einem Workshop mit Beteiligung internationaler Wissenschaftler*innen verschiedener Disziplinen. Im Zentrum des Workshops standen neue Entwicklungen in den Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften im Feld der religiösen Gefühle. Insbesondere wurde die kommunikative Konstruktion des "Säkularen" und des "Religiösen" als sich antagonistisch gegenüberstehende Pole diskutiert.

Methodenworkshop "Diskursanalyse"

Am 19. Juni 2016 bot das Teilprojekt C04 ein Methodenseminar zur Einführung in die wissenssoziologische Diskursanalyse an. Dr. Sasa Bosanic, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Universität Augsburg, dessen Arbeitsgebiet vor allem die Wissenssoziologie und die Diskursanalyse umfasst, gab zunächst einen Überblick über die Grundlagen und Konzepte der wissenssoziologischen Diskursanalyse. Im Anschluss wurden die im Rahmen dieser verwendeten heuristischen Instrumente vorgestellt und anhand von empirischem Material aus einigen Teilprojekten des SFB 1171 praktisch angewandt.